Gambling Venues Promo Codes
college football playoffs betting

2023 College Football Playoffs Best Bets & Offers for NY

College Football Playoffs
February - June 2023
Get up to $100 in Free Bets, Use code NYBRV
Live Odds

For decades, the champion of college football was elected to the title. A day or two following the bowl games over the holiday season, members appointed to a panel would vote for the national champion. Final rankings would reveal a winner by ballot.

Naturally, this met with much consternation and disagreement among the masses. It also often meant that due to rival polls, several times over the years there were multiple national champions declared. That included the bizarre occurrence in 1964 when Alabama, Arkansas and Notre Dame all laid claim to the mythical national title. The sense was that this uncertainty was also making a mockery of the process and giving the college football season status as nothing better than a glamorous exhibition campaign.

That all began to change in 1999, with the birth of the Bowl Championship Series. This pitted the No. 1 and 2 teams in the rankings in a sudden-death game for the national championship. In 2015, the College Football Playoff began. The top four schools in the rankings meet in semifinals, with the winners playing for the national title.

College Football Playoffs Betting Options

As soon as a national champion is declared, the future book odds on the next season’s championship will be posted. Getting early action on this bet can prove wise, since the odds are generally at their highest at that point. The betting line in this betting market will be altered throughout the season based on game results, injuries, and coaching changes. 

Other options to wager on college football include future books for the champion of each conference and over/under plays on regular-season win totals for every school. Game betting choices include moneylines, point spreads and totals. There are also player, game and team props, parlays, same-game parlays and live in-play betting options.

College Football Playoffs Betting in New York: Best Sportsbook & Offers for 2023

  • BetRivers: $100 Bonus Match (Free Bets). Use code NYBRV. T&Cs apply.
  • WynnBet Ny: Get daily odds boosts for College Football 2023 bets
  • BetRivers NY Sportsbook: Get up to $100 Back on Lost Bet
    Best-rated in NY Online Sports Betting Website, In-Game Live Betting Odds, 1X Lowest Playthrough Requirement, Mobile Sportsbook App, Football & Tennis Live Sports Streams, RUSHPAY™, iRush Rewards, Daily Boosted Odds, New Customer Bonus See Review T&C apply
  • BetMGM Bonus Code in 2024 is USDOTBET
    • Licensed in New York Sports Betting Service • Simple Trusted & Reliable Betting Site • Refer-a-friend • MGM Rewards program • Exclusive Vegas discounts • One-Game Parlays • Cash Out • Edit My Bet See Review T&C apply
  • Caesars NY Sportsbook: Bet $50 Get $250 Bet bonus
    • Fully licensed in NY • Same-Game Parlay • Live betting • Live streams • Price boosts • Caesars Rewards program See Review T&C apply

There are plenty of options for New York sports bettors as far as where they can do their college football wagering within the state. New York currently features nine legal and regulated betting sites, each offering retail, online and mobile app betting options.

New York’s College Football Playoffs Legacy

Just two New York schools can boast of winning a college football national championship, and all of those crowns were earned a long time ago. Army from West Point have won three titles, the most recent in 1945. That was the second win in a row for the Cadets following their 1944 title. Army were also national champions in 1914.

Cornell, located in Ithaca, N.Y. were also national champions in back-to-back seasons in 1921 and 1922. The Big Red won the national title in 1915, one year after Army’s first win.

While there might not be a national championship-contending school in the Empire State today, perhaps that’s a good thing. Currently, New York’s sports betting laws do not permit wagering on in-state schools or in-state university competitions.

College Football Playoffs Facts

Yale holds the all-time record for national championships. The Bulldogs 18 titles, the first in 1974 and the most recent in 1927. In the BCS-CFP era, Alabama owns a leading six titles.

Alabama coaches dominate the national title lead as well. Nick Saban owns a record seven national championships, winning six while in charge of the Crimson Tide. Paul “Bear” Bryant also led Alabama to six national championship crowns.